Inserting an image into WR

Found something interesting to mod? Post it here.
User avatar
Jeremy
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: NOT from the moon...

Inserting an image into WR

Post by Jeremy » Thu Aug 26, 2010 3:35 pm

Do you want to insert an image into Worms Reloaded to use as a map? You've come to the right place. Here I will explain how to do it. It's very simple.

How to make a map in Paint.net
1) Open PDN.
2) Make an image with the the dimensions of the width being the double of the height. The exact size of the in-game maps will always be 2560x1280, so I'd prefer to use that size, else the image will be resized.
3) Press CTRL+A, then press delete.
4) Draw the map you want, make sure to have somewhat thick black outlines to make the map look better.
5) Follow the steps below the photoshop tutorial

How to make a map in Photoshop (Thanks to p5ychokilla on the Steam forums for this)
1) Make an image with the the dimensions of the width being the double of the height. The exact size of the in-game maps will always be 2560x1280, so I'd prefer to use that size, else the image will be resized.
2) Make sure the background is totally black.
3) Insert all the images you want and edit it all so it looks the way you want.
4) Flatten the image, i.e. merge all the layers
5) Go into the Channels palette and create an alpha channel (with the icon that looks like a folded page at the bottom)
6) Anything you want visible will be totally white in the alpha channel, anything you want hidden will be black. So, basically you want everything you inserted to be white in the alpha channel and you want the black background to be black in the alpha channel also.
7) Easiest way to do this is use the magic wand to select all the black on your picture then invert your selection and go to the alpha channel and just paint all your new selection white.
8) Again, make sure to have somewhat thick black outlines to make the map look better.
9) Follow the steps below

How to make a map in The Gimp
Check out this post.

You can also make images have a transparency of 99% and less by filling an area in the alpha channel with grayvalue 253 (Photoshop) or layer transparancy 253 or less (Paint.net)

Afterwards:
1) Save the TGA image you made to %steamfolder%\steamapps\common\worms reloaded\UserLandscapes\
2) Open Worms Reloaded, go to the landscape editor
3) Click the 'load landscape' button, select your TGA file
4) Add everything(worms, mines, oil drums) to your map, save it to the same name as your TGA.
And there you go, you inserted an image into Worms Reloaded.

EDIT:
Be sure that, if you release the map that is made from an image, to make it a rar/zip file containing the .kev file, .lds file, but NOT the TGA file! You can also just ONLY include the tga file, but it isn't recommended.

EDIT2:
You might want to check out this tool if you want to edit the landscape (background) of your map.
http://wormgineers.com/index.php?page=File&id=227
'That Wormgineer is a spah!'

User avatar
Angelo
Site Admin
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:57 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Angelo » Thu Aug 26, 2010 4:42 pm

Even better than what I had on the site! I'll link to this.
Image

Logis
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:54 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Logis » Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:56 pm

Could someone make a youtube tutorial ?
should be helpfull

LUHG!
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:55 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by LUHG! » Thu Aug 26, 2010 7:41 pm

It's hardly rocket science, no need for a youtube tutorial tbh.

User avatar
Angelo
Site Admin
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:57 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Angelo » Thu Aug 26, 2010 8:02 pm

It's not very difficult to do indeed.
Image

Logis
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 6:54 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Logis » Thu Aug 26, 2010 8:26 pm

Ok never mind then ;)

KalanYamato
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 12:14 am

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by KalanYamato » Thu Aug 26, 2010 10:03 pm

The only hard thing to do is the map itself xD

User avatar
Angelo
Site Admin
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:57 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Angelo » Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:31 pm

Updated the post; the TGA file is NOT REQUIRED in your Wormgineers submission!
Image

User avatar
Neurological
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 12:12 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Neurological » Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:28 pm

Hello, I'm new here. I'm finishing a map right now. So the TGA is not needed, but the kev is still needed?

User avatar
Angelo
Site Admin
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:57 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Angelo » Fri Aug 27, 2010 1:41 pm

Yes, you need to package up the KEV and LDS file. The TGA is not required.
Image

LUHG!
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2010 2:55 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by LUHG! » Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:40 pm

Can anyone help me make the edges of my maps look better (i.e a black border?) How do I do it?

User avatar
Jeremy
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:58 pm
Location: NOT from the moon...

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Jeremy » Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:48 pm

Well, you can do it manually, or by using the function PDN/Photoshop gives you. The PDN outline fuction acts kinda weird, I don't know how to control it exactly. For the photoshop; I haven't used photoshop in ages, I forgot where the function is :/
'That Wormgineer is a spah!'

User avatar
Angelo
Site Admin
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:57 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Angelo » Fri Aug 27, 2010 10:49 pm

You might want to find Lei Lei (http://wormgineers.com/index.php?page=Profile&id=56) on Steam Community. Those maps are REALLY nice.
Image

ninjarap
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:26 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by ninjarap » Sat Aug 28, 2010 4:34 pm

Hi everyone, just signed up so I'm new. A quick question which I didn't want to make a whole thread about if that's ok, but does anyone know the pixel dimensions for the worms hit boxes in Reloaded?

Robotjoe
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:20 am

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Robotjoe » Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:21 am

is there anyway to use the game's 3D backdrops for custom maps?

User avatar
Angelo
Site Admin
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:57 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Angelo » Sun Aug 29, 2010 10:28 am

You mean selecting which 3D background people play in? I think that's chosen by the player/server.
Image

User avatar
eastx
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:31 am
Location: Lake Jackson, TX USA

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by eastx » Sun Aug 29, 2010 12:37 pm

Here's another way to format an image. I find it simpler than messing with the colors.
  • Create the image in the format of your choice (2560 x 1280 resolution) with a blank background.
    Save the image as a .PNG file.
    Open the image in The Gimp.
    Save the image as a .TGA file and select No Compression when prompted. Put it in the game's UserLandscapes folder.
Now that the image is formatted correctly, you need to make it into an actual custom map.
  • Start the game and enter the Landscape Editor. Load the .TGA file.
    Set the spawn points of the worms, landmines, etc.
    Save the map. I recommend using the same file name as the TGA file for simplicty's sake. This creates 2 files: .LDS and .KEV. You no longer need the .TGA file, so feel free to delete it.
The final part is to share your map with the world.
  • You will need either WinZip or WinRAR to create an archive of the custom map files.
    Start the compression program of your choice and add only the .LDS and .KEV files of your custom map. Do not add the .TGA file.
    Create a screenshot (730 x 240 resolution) of your map. Just press PrintScreen during the game and find the screenshot in the game's screenshots folder. Then crop and/or reduce the image to the proper resolution.
    Submit both the archive file and the preview screenshot here.
All done!
Last edited by eastx on Sun Aug 29, 2010 2:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-Paul Acevedo
Image Image
Xbox Live Gamertag, PSN, and Steam: EastX

User avatar
Angelo
Site Admin
Posts: 234
Joined: Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:57 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Angelo » Sun Aug 29, 2010 2:07 pm

LGA? I think you mean LDS.
Image

User avatar
eastx
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 4:31 am
Location: Lake Jackson, TX USA

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by eastx » Sun Aug 29, 2010 2:09 pm

Whoops, thanks.
-Paul Acevedo
Image Image
Xbox Live Gamertag, PSN, and Steam: EastX

User avatar
Chukkzy
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 29, 2010 1:15 pm

Re: Inserting an image into WR

Post by Chukkzy » Sun Aug 29, 2010 3:16 pm

Hey guys, just joined because I am interested in this topic too...

If you are looking at the ingame help it tells you that you can save 32 bit TGA files to determine if a pixel should be either

A) exploded completely off the map so that the background gets visible or
B) leave behind stone texture like if you dig into a mountain in the normal game (so you do not see the sky but stones)

That is being done by setting the Alpha value of a pixel, 254 means it will disappear completely from the map if destroyed, 255 will leave earth behind.

I tested this in Paint.net, you can set the transparency of a layer there directly from 0 to 255.

Image (click for full 1080p view)

Like so (I edited the text into the screenshot to make it more clear what I did, basically all I did was move the transparency slider of the layer). I saved it as a 32 bit tga then.
Now if I load this TGA into WR I get something like this:

Image

Note that on the 255 blob you can see stones where I dug into it while on the 254 blob you can not.

Now, while this is easy to do in Paint.net I would like to use Photoshop or any other more advanced program that allows me to paint, but the transparency there seems to work differently as it gives you a percentage slider instead of the direct values of 0 to 255.

Post Reply